Project 46 Drop Debut Album “Beautiful”

The Canadian DJ/Producer duo, Project 46, have accumulated an almost cult like status with their loyal fan-base. Their legendary ‘Pancake Fridays’ which would see a new original, bootleg or remix every Friday is still refereed to today, and reflects the deep passion and engrained skill Thomas Shaw and Ryan Henderson have as revered producers.

With hits such as ‘Last Chance” with Kaskade, “Reasons” and “Collide” with Laidback Luke, and currently holding residencies in Las Vegas, Los Angeles and Waterloo, it was only really a matter of time the pair compiled an EP in the form of an album, which is suitably named ‘Beautiful’.

Kicking off with its lead single of the same namesake “Beautiful (It Hurt)” has seen significant praise from all corners of the industry for its ability to sit between pop, instrumental elements and the electronic genre. With sensitive, rising, love-infused vocals, the electronic chords and busy layering is diffused by guitar strums and drums throughout, creating and undlating mood and atmosphere. With a big-room kick, the tracks diverse range of settings certainly places it in good stead.

Included in the album are their stellar tracks with Laidback Luke and Kaskade, reflecting the respect and artistic ability of the duo. With “Last Chance” ranking over 2 million hits on Soundcloud and “Memories” being featured in many of Luke’s sets to date, such as Ultra and Tomorrowland, the caliber of material in the album is certainly shown.

The strong skill set the duo carry is also incorporated, with “Friend Zone” taking an unexpected, and refreshing direction. With catchy vocals, a deep bassline and a groove, funk-like feel, the track breaks the albums predominately electronic-progressive vibe up perfectly. “Search And Rescue” also adds to the diverse blend of tracks, taking a very melodic approach, with soft, toned vocals by HALIENE and a dupstep-esque progression with distorted, rising sythns and heavy use of FX, it adds refreshing variety to the album.

Reflecting the duo’s instrumental childhoods, “Forgettable” features silky smooth vocals by the young Canadian Olivia, while “My Only Friend” is leans towards a more pop, sing-along structure with harmonic vocals from newcomer Sam James. With piano, guitar and drums all included in their pure form, the pairs love for traditional music tools is certainly not lost.

Filling the rest of the album track-slots are the duo’s renowned sound, electronic/progressive house. Consistently able to create progressive kicks dominated by a memorable melody and joyous, rave-inducing atmospheres, Project 46 bring in a vocalist for each respective track. Ranging from “Destroy Me“, “The Truth“, and “I Found You” to “Beat Again” and “Take Away The Pain“, the album features the likes of Brooke Tomlinson, Jovany, Jesse Weeks, Karl Wolf and Ava Koci, providing a spectrum of tones, emotions and lyrics incorporating themes of love, loss, joy and desperation.

Project 46
have made an undeniable impact on the progressive house scene, proven by their catalogue of releases and material, featuring on labels like Ultra, Spinnin’ and Monstercat, as well as placing in the DJ Mag Top 100 poll in 2012 and 2013. With the dropping of their album comes the start of their next musical chapter, one we are in excited anticipation for already, although the current album will do more than suffice until those days come, catering for our electronic and Project 46 needs more than suitably.

Beautiful is available today on iTunes and Beatport

Expat living in New Zealand with a keen ear for the pure form of progressive house and a passion for the electronic scene in general. Fingers crossed you like this site as much as me!

[email protected]