Electronic Star Wars Album Announced

At the end of last year, fans both young and old rejoiced over the seventh Star Wars film.  Now, the music behind one of the most beloved series of all time will be getting some new creators.  Beats 1 radio recently revealed this breaking news.  In a short talk with Flying Lotus, Zane Lowe admitted that the clip that was played, “R2 Where R U?” would actually be a piece of an even greater album dedicated to Star Wars, called Star Wars Headspace.  “R2 Where R U” can be heard here.

The project is being headed by Def Jam co-founder Rick Rubin, who has allowed artists who collaborate on the project to have full artistic control of their pieces using most of the sounds sampled directly from the Star Wars movies.  There will be several other large artists on the production, including Baauer, GTA, Kaskade, Bonobo, Claude VonStroke, Galantis, director of The Force Awakens director JJ Abrams, and more.  The album is set to release online February 19th, but can be bought physically starting March 19th through Universal Records.

Star Wars Headspace Confirmed Tracklist:

01 Kaskade: “C-3P0’s Plight”
02 GTA: “Help Me!”
03 TroyBoi: “Force”
04 Baauer: “Cantina Boys”
05 Shag Kava: “Jabba Flow: Rick Rubin Re-Work” [ft. A-Trak]
06 Claude VonStroke: “R2 Knows” [ft. Barry Drift]
07 Rick Rubin: “NR-G7”
08 Bonobo: “Ghomrassen”
09 Röyksopp: “Bounty Hunters”
10 ATTLAS: “Sunset Over Manaan”
11 Flying Lotus: “R2 Where R U?”
12 Shlohmo: “Druid Caravan of Smoke”
13 Rustie: “EWOK PUMPP”
14 Galantis: “Scruffy-Looking Nerfherder”
15 Breakbot: “Star Tripper”

Phil is a senior Accounting student at Ohio State University, who seeks to share his passion for Electronic Dance Music and its culture all across the globe, one person at a time.

[email protected]