Album Review: Marcus Mouya – Meraki

We’ve been covering up and coming producer Marcus Mouya for a while now and we’re delighted to say he’s back with a brand new album entitled “Meraki”. The 15 track album is a scorcher for fans of Avicii-esque dance music and features a number of enthralling collaborations.

Opening with the laid back “Where The Heart Is” sets the record off on a nice chilled back vibe before “United As One” really gets things moving with a pounding 4/4 beat and Avicii inspired synths that continues throughout most of the album. “Prince of Persia again features a swinging rhythm backed up by superb vocals and nice guitars keeping up the theme of the title of the track. “Heartbeats” keeps up the summery vibe and has to be one of the best tracks on the album with a beautiful piano progression that develops into a catchy melody and massive festival styled drop making for what could be a big summer anthem.

“Hold On” takes the album in a different direction and is a loud, huge big room banger which is definitely one of the hardest productions on the album but makes for a great party tune. “Love Is Gone” continues the big room trend and is another stand out party tune from the album with great production values. “Happiness” takes things down a bit after two heavy doses of big room and is a more laidback style as seen earlier on the album with a touch of pop vibes too.

As we move to the halfway point, “Tears Of The Sun” has to be another one of the standout tunes on this album, with well produced beats and synths accompanied by vocal chops making for an interesting but excellent tune. “The Right Way” is another progressive house stormer and boasts phenomenal gliding synths and a nice piano progression. “Don’t Be Afraid” is a bit of a curve ball but is probably the best tune on the album with experimental rhythmic progressions and emotive piano chords to make for a unique piece of music. In a nice tribute to Avicii, “Homecoming” takes inspiration from the Swede in a cracking blend of melodic elements. “Gaming Music” features some well placed 8 bit sounds in a nod to video games of old, while “Voices Inside My Head” is a shot of bouncy progressive house.

Moving into the last two tracks on the album, “Trust” is another dose of big room magic while the final track “The Fairytale” is something special with a nice melodic house production. Overall, a great album from one of the best up and coming producers around.

You can purchase it here.