Jeff Mills and Daft Punk appear on Soma Records 25th anniversary compilation

Glasgow’s Soma Records has been a huge force to be reckoned with in the dance world since its conception in 1991 by evergreen DJ duo Slam and their pals Dave Clarke and Glenn Gibbons. Now, with 2017 marking Soma’s 25th anniversary, the Scottish giants will honor such an occasion with a very special vinyl box-set called Soma25. The 5xLP release features brand new tracks from the likes of Jeff Mills, Robert Hood, Adam Beyer, and a spectacular remix of ‘Drive’ by Daft Punk.

The nod to the French electronic duo comes a full 23 years after they dropped their first productions on Soma in 1994.  Alongside its weighty catalog of influential techno, the label is known for launching their career with three singles between 1994 and 1996. And now, to mark a quarter of a century of making us sweat, the box-set collection is beefed up with some fresh remixes, with Ostgut Ton’s Kobosil mixing Slam’s ‘Visions’, while VRIL takes on ‘X Track’ by Percy X, and Jonas Kopp handles Slam’s ‘Stepback’.

The collection itself, contains 15 tracks over 5 slabs of wax, and has been designed by Scottish artist Kyle Irvine, with bonus features of 25 exclusive Soma logo stickers, a poster and illustrated vinyl sleeves. His highly detailed, powerful yet delicate illustration style is truly unique. Each design was handpicked by Soma especially for the box set, and each individual sleeve has its own story line with enigmatic characters including Lantern Man and Little Bo, who live in a dimension beyond our own.


A1 – Robert Hood – ‘The Bond We Formed’
A2 – Jeff Mills – ‘A Tale From the Parallel Universe’
B1 – Daft Punk – ‘Drive’ (Slam Modular Interpretation)
B2 – Adam Beyer – ‘Just Things’
C1 – Blawan – ‘Clipper’
C2 – The Woodleigh Research Facility – ‘S.O.M.A 25’
D – Josh Wink – ‘Synodic Period’
E1 – Slam – ‘Stepback’ (Jonas Kopp Remix)
E2 – Slam – ‘Visions’ (Kobosil Remix)
F – Percy X – ‘X Track’ (Vril Remix 2)
G1 – Slam – ‘Tempest’
G2 – Steve Bicknell – ‘Mind Cycles’
H – Funk D’Void – ‘808 Planet’
I – Joe Stawarz – ‘Cry’ (Deepchord Remix)
J – Joe Stawarz – ‘Beebear’ (Deepchord Remix)

The package, featuring some of techno’s biggest names, lands on 31st March 2017.


(BA Hons Journalism), 30, London. NCTJ-accredited journalist and dance music lover specialising in interviews, features, editorial work, and reviews.

[email protected]