Flume honored as Songwriter of the year at APRA awards

Electronic music prodigy Flume has been honored with the title ‘Songwriter of the year’ at the 2017 APRA Music Awards in Sydney. Harley Edward Streten, professionally known as ‘Flume’ took the prestigious award which is almost unfamiliar to the electronic world.

The Australian musician, DJ and record producer also took home awards for ‘Dance work of the year’ and ‘Most played Australian work’. The success is down to his much successful track “Never Be Like You” featuring Canadian singer Kai. The track has over 66 million views on YouTube alone.

The honorary awards add to an already impressive resume for the Sydney-based producer. His second studio album ‘Skin’ picked up Flume’s first Grammy at the 59th Grammy Awards in Los Angeles in the category ‘Best dance album’. The album rightly sought international fame charting in the top 10 albums in the United States. Last year Flume dominated the ARIA awards picking up eight prize spots in various categories.

Flume has expertly crafted an exhibition of tracks built with some of the finest vocalists. Compositions such as “Take A Chance” featuring Little Dragon and the track “Like Water” featuring MNDR reflect the success in Flume’s ‘Songwriter of the year’ award.

Give a listen below to the hear the track ‘Never Be Like You’ or head here for the full album ‘Skin‘.