Kygo releases monumental debut album ‘Cloud Nine’

The moment Kygo fans have been waiting for has finally arrived. Having previously announced that his debut album ‘Cloud Nine‘ would be released on February 12th, the unfortunate delay has meant fans have been waiting in eager anticipation for the album’s release. The Norwegian producer previously announced that he had been working on the album for a year and a half, and the delay was due to the fact that he did not want to rush the final stages of each track. Well the wait is now over, as ‘Cloud Nine‘ has just been released through Sony Music, containing 14 for the finest tropical and piano-filled tracks.

The album kicks off with an ‘Intro‘, which sets the atmospheric tone for the rest of the album as Kygo opens up with an instrumental in similar style to his popular ‘Piano Jams’. Whilst Kygo fans will already be familiar with the next track on the album, as ‘Stole The Show‘ has gone on to become a global hit since its release last year. ‘Fiction‘ showcases the mesmerising vocals if Tom Odell in all their glory, as he combines with Kygo’s rejuvenating signature sounds to bring us an uplifting, feel good tropical anthem. Up next is ‘Raging‘ featuring the ever impressive Kodaline, and this track has been attracting significant attention since the preview went online last month, in support of what is easily one of the best tracks from the album. Also featured on the album is Kygo’s renowned hit ‘Firestone‘, which raised the Norwegian producer to new realms of fame.

As premiered at Ultra Music Festival, Kygo’s highly anticipated collaboration with the gifted singer-songwriter John Legend entitled ‘Happy Birthday‘ was written as a tribute to Legend’s daughter, whilst ‘Oasis‘ together with Foxes features succinct lyrics written by the one and only Sia. ‘I’m in Love‘ sees the Norwegian producer put a unique twist on his typical style of production in favour of an R&B style beat intertwined with tropical plucks whilst Irishman James Vincent McMorrow is on vocal duties. Another stand-out track from the album is ‘Not Alone‘ where Kygo joins forces with Rhodes to deliver another enchanting track that makes for the perfect soundtrack to those late night summer drives and adventures. In comparison, ‘Serious‘ has a slightly darker feel to it, with deeper basses and hard percussions combining with Matt Corby‘s sensual vocals.

As the album nears its conclusion, crowd-pleasing tracks ‘Stay‘ and ‘Nothing Left‘ have done more than enough to earn their spot on the producer’s debut album, as the two tracks have already gone on to achieve massive success and have featured in top 10 charts around the world. Whilst Kygo’s latest radio hit ‘Fragile‘, is a beautiful tune that extends beyond the confines of traditional dance music, the Norwegian’s signature touch can still be felt even through the use of organic instruments. The album concludes with ‘Carry Me’, another track that has been featured a lot in Kygo’s live sets, and looks set to become a summer anthem with its sing-along vocals and catchy melody.

Overall, this is an impressive debut album by anyone’s standards, and notably features some of the world’s leading singers, all of which are guaranteed to attract attention in their own right. 2016 certainly looks set to be Kygo’s year, as he continues to go from strength to strength. Is there anything that can stop him?

Stream the album in full below and purchase here.